KATHMANDU: The CpN (Maoist Centre) has decided to seek suggestions from stakeholders and subject experts in its manifesto aimed at the federal and provincial elections scheduled to be held on November 14. 

A meeting of the election commitment drafting committee held at the party headquarters on Friday decided to take suggestions from experts, said Maoist youth leader Prakash Bikalpa, who is also a member of the election commitment drafting committee. 

CpN (Maoist Centre) senior vice-chair and manifesto drafting committee's Narayan Kaji Shrestha had proposed to seek suggestions from experts and stakeholders to write a commitment letter reflecting the concept of socialism-oriented state. The meeting has also prepared a schedule for collecting suggestions from October 10 to 28. 

The Maoists are going to hold formal interaction with the left intellectuals, civil society, banks and financial sector, private sector, cooperatives, education and health, labour and employment, youth and sports, science and technology, national security, interest, security and foreign affairs, energy and water resources, tourism and culture, social security and social justice, infrastructure development among others.

 According to young leader Bikalpa, the manifesto will cover topics such as contemporary politics and Maoist perspectives, nepal's communist movement and the contribution of Maoists, Maoist views on various national policies, policies and programs to be put forward by the Maoists for the next five years, some political commitments, justification of alliance and appeal for political stability. The Maoists are preparing to put forward the latest issues in the manifesto to be named election manifesto. 

Stating that the political parties will prepare manifestos only for the announcement of the elections, he said that their focus is on the question of credibility, so only the policies and programs to be made at all costs will be kept in the commitment letter. General Secretary Dev Gurung, Deputy General Secretaries Barshaman Pun, Giriraj Mani Pokharel, Shakti Basnet, Janardan Sharma, Secretary Lilamani Pokharel, Ganesh Sah, Parshuram Tamang, Amrita Thapamagar and Dr. Sher Bahadur Thapamagar were present in the committee. Min Bahadur Shrestha, DP Dhakal, Zakir Hussain, Prakash Bikalpa, Jagat Simkhada, Manahari Timilsina, Dr. Purna Loksam, Nahendra Khadka and other leaders are members.

 According to the Maoist Center, arrangements have been made so that the general public can also give suggestions for the manifesto. Member Bikalpa said that their suggestions can be sent to [email protected] for inclusion in the commitment letter.